How not to answer your thousands of bad reviews

14 replies [Last post]
Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

This is the mgmt response to every bad review. And, you guessed it, they are all complaining about the same things.

We apologize for your disappointment in our product on your last visit. Please be assured, we share your concern about anything that may detract from your experience at our property; we want nothing more than for you and all our guests to feel comfortable during your visit. We have shared your comments with our Hotel Operations Management to ensure these problems are being addressed and corrected. Your comments will certainly help us to improve the process. We hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future.

__________________

Everyday, for good or ill, we intersect with some else's story and become a part of it.

 

Aussie Innkeeper's picture
Offline
Joined:
01/16/2010

Seeing this thread, I HAD to offer this. We have some really cheap, nasty, rent-by-the-hour places on the 'main drag' in the tourist area. On TA, this is the worst one and yet the manager responds to every review (they're all bad) with the same response (word for word), though he's not responded to any of them the past few months.

krish b, General Manager at E****, responded to this review
dear guest thank you for the feedback. yes we did a major renovation this past winter. we painted the entire hotel, added new lighting in the bathroom, added a new breakfast room and new furniture, upgraded the free wifi in the entire hotel, added a gazebo and deck overlooking the breathtaking view of a real amish farm, sealed and stripped the entire parking lot, added CFL bulbs in the bathrooms with the new fixtures. so yes i would say this does qualify as a major renovation project. thank you. see you soon.

__________________

Lynne
Queen of Everything!

 

Breakfast Diva's picture
Offline
Joined:
05/26/2009

Here's another 'What Not to Do' response. Unfortunately, I had to work with this owner last week...let's just say that it didn't go well. I truly believe that the real personality of the owner shows through on most of these type responses.

REVIEW:

I have stayed at the Inn 5 or 6 times in the last 3 years. I have yet to have A successful stay. I have had used bars of soap left in the shower, and half empty bottles of shampoo. Two times the coffee pots did not work. Once the curtain rod was on the floor. I have had to shower at my sisters house on at least 2 different occasions. Once the pilot was out on the water heater. And this last time I was in unit 1, and the shower control is broken, and I could not regulate the water temp to take shower. The units need curtains other than sheers. I did not see any smoke detectors. Or fire extinguishers on site. No WiFi.

Manager response: Under normal circumstances , I would thank you for taking the time to write a honest and thoughtful review but what you wrote about was neither thoughtful or honest . You say you stayed at the property 5 or 6 times and for the price you should get a shower . You got a shower as well as a refund . And now that I know you we're the one that reported the coffee pot not working I would of checked it before we replaced it . You claim all these things happened to you every time you stayed at the inn . I had stayed there myself at least 50 times and I never had any of the problems that you have nor has a anyone else . The shower that you had so much difficulty with is a Hansgrohne interaktiv shower panel . This shower panel has 6 body spray features as well as a hand held or stable top spray . It has a center nob that must be pushed in and turned to adjust the temperature . After hearing about the incident with you , I came up with a Plummer only to discover it worked perfectly . Seems no one understood how to work it . There will be sign posted with instruction for future use . We do have a working wifi but you need to bring your own computer as well as put in the code . And yes early this spring our pilot light on the hot water did go out but not while you were there . And yes we do have sheers covering the special windows that we had installed in 2009 . You Can see out but others cannot see in . Had you checked you would of noticed this . All the units do have working smoke detectors as well there are fire extinguishers , but I don't believe for a minute that you couldn't see them . The people reading these reviews are hoping to learn something about the property , unfortunately in your case they have learned nothing honest about the property . All is not lost though because we have all learned a great deal about you . Let me see if I have this correct : You can't shower without help , make coffee , use WIFI or see more than two feet in front of you . Neither can you tell a simple story without wildly exaggerating it . I think we all know someone like you . Now , every person I have talked to ( besides you ) says that not only do we have one of the most amazing spot on the river but we also have the most beautiful night sky's as well as the most comfortable beds and cleanest rooms they have ever slept in . In fact they all say that they have never slept better. Maybe that's why you have stayed with us 5 or 6 times ?

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

Really let go there didn't they? Sometimes this works, but only if you have a sense of humor about it. It also helps if the 'mgmt team' can spell.

Altho the spelling part only seems to bother those folks who can spell.

My next business... Rewriting ad copy.

Offline
Joined:
05/22/2008

Oh my!! And I still can only ask..why did this person even go back? Maybe a second time because things happen..but never again after that. I would not give any more chances. And the response..just wacko!

Joey Camb's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/02/2010

see that's where we differ - I love the response! I know this kind of guest and agree with the management, who would go back 6 times if that was how it was?

__________________

Don't mess with me today or I will kill you!!!!

 

Breakfast Diva's picture
Offline
Joined:
05/26/2009

camberleyhotelharrogate@yahoo.co.uk wrote:

see that's where we differ - I love the response! I know this kind of guest and agree with the management, who would go back 6 times if that was how it was?

Sorry Cambs, but this woman really was wacko, and the response you read is exactly the way she is in person. Can not take an ounce of criticism or helpful suggestions. She even told me that she lied on some of the response. As far as why she kept going back, it's because it's really the only half-way decent place in the tiny town and the location is superb.

Joey Camb's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/02/2010

that's the trouble sometimes - there was one on hotel inspector last night - on the doorstep of Wembly arena - this is a massive multi purpose sports and football stadium - when there is something on rates triple.

Place was a dump - cracks in the walls broken bath panals etc - he was all like "gosh it shows how long its been since ive been in the rooms ive not seen any of this!" I mean how long has it fricking been?

Highlands John's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/16/2010

Just watched that one. I can understand that over the years you can become complacent and miss some of the details, but..........

big cracks in the walls, broken bath panels, wallpaper peeling off with sections missing.

Really?

 

And what was interesting was at the end of the program Alex said to him what I've been telling people for years (on here included)...........if people stay and enjoy it encourage them to write a review.

__________________

If you wanted hotel facilities you should have booked a hotel and paid hotel prices!!!

 

Joey Camb's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/02/2010

Plus he was all like "oh we don't show people to their rooms" well you clearly arn't checking them after the chamber maid or any other time - Id bet good money its been 8 months to a year since he has been in any of those rooms!

All he could see was the pub - the rooms wern't even an after thought

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

Guests today asked if I have a review section on my website so they could write something. I mentioned  TA and they both said they don't want to get on any review site. But then offered to say something on FB instead.

Offline
Joined:
06/24/2008

Madeleine wrote:

Guests today asked if I have a review section on my website so they could write something. I mentioned  TA and they both said they don't want to get on any review site. But then offered to say something on FB instead.

If they have to sign up, forgetaboutit. That is what happens! 

Highlands John's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/16/2010

I don't know why places bother with this sort of thing, especially when you get basically a rewording of this for every bad review. They'd be better off posting nothing.

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

They had over 1000 poor reviews. Mostly about the pool being closed for maintenance (something they do every year at the same time) and waiting over an hour to check in.

Generic's picture
Offline
Joined:
02/24/2011

Perhaps they need a better management (s)quad. 

Around here, the hotel is famous (under it's previous name) for where a famous local singer's spouse was accused of raping someone and they paid them hush money.

I've walked through the hotel. One of the few hotels I wouldn't stay in, no matter the price. I'd rather stay further out at a nicer hotel. The location is good, but the problem really is management and upkeep.

__________________

Permission to quote in whole or in part, other than usage on this forum, is entirely forbidden.

 

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.