Travel Agent wanting to send check through courier - spam?

4 replies [Last post]
Offline
Joined:
04/06/2011

 Hi all, 

I'm fairly sure this request is a scam as he's apparently from the UK and hasn't named his travel agency yet, but can anyone comment on the believability of this? Is it common to have people request courier services, and has anyone heard of "Johnson Consult"?

Thank you!

Offline
Joined:
05/22/2008

I've got the emails from Johnson Consult.  It's without a doubt a scam.  The reply-to is a yahoo.com email and a copy to johnsonconsult @ islamking.com.  One of my spam filters caught it, the other didn't.

__________________

Jeanne

 

Alibi Ike's picture
Offline
Joined:
08/08/2010

You can't even go by the names they use in the emails. Half the time those are just lifted from real businesses you could look up.

So, how did they say that would work? The courier is going to bring you payment? In cash?

Hate to say but odd stuff from UK addresses usually turns out to be a scam. Most travel agencies just give you their cc number and ask that you charge it only for the room + tax and state that all other expenses are to be borne by the guest.

Have you replied back? Interesting to know what comes next.

 

Don Draper's picture
Offline
Joined:
08/10/2008

 We deal frequently with a legit British travel agency and they use their credit card to secure all reservations.  No checks, esp foreign ones.

__________________

What you call love was invented by guys like me to sell nylons.

 

Eric Arthur Blair's picture
Offline
Joined:
02/24/2011

SCAM. No one uses cheques anymore other than scammers because it can take up to a year to clear a foreign cheque. 

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.