Quantcast

Batching Credit Card Transactions

INNspiring.com | Innkeeper Forum & Innkeeping Resources

Help Support INNspiring.com | Innkeeper Forum & Innkeeping Resources:

Proud Texan

Well-known member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
2,685
Reaction score
0
I guess this question is directed to smaller B&Bs.
How often do you batch your credit card transactions? Daily, Weekly?
We are starting to experience a real surge in guest visits (yay!) and I have been letting the receipts stack up and batch them out on Sunday night. I was just curious as to what others are doing. Is there a good reason to do it daily even if you only have one or two transactions?
 

Banana

Well-known member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
175
Reaction score
0
I have four rooms, and batch daily. Three reasons: 1) I want my money as soon as possible. 2) To avoid my own confusion about which charges I've batched, and which I haven't, and 3) My processor charges a fee (of course!) if I don't batch a closed transaction within 48 hours of check out. Before I changed procedures recently, my machine was set up to automatically batch just before midnight every night, so I wouldn't have to remember to do it.
 

muirford

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
2,493
Reaction score
12
I do it daily to make it easier to enter and reconcile in Quickbooks. You might check with your processor though - they sometimes charge an addtional fee if there is more than 48 hours lag in checkout and batching. For us, anyway, and the program we use for processing.
 

Joey Camb

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
4,793
Reaction score
0
Ours does it automatically 7am every day don't have to think about it.
 

gillumhouse

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
15,579
Reaction score
175
I usually wait for the last car to pull away but if they have gone back upstairs, I do it after the last card is run. I want to get my Internet up and cannot have both at the same time (and do not want to get distracted by something with DH and forget), I want my money wending its way to my checking account ASAP, and they charge me more if it is not done PROMPTLY (I do not remember if it is 24 or 48 hours because it is within 30 minutes for me).
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,386
Reaction score
260
My machine does it automatically at night. One reason to do it every day is to get the funds faster and to avoid 'late' charges if your processor does that. Mine charges extra if the batch isn't processed the day the card is run.
 

Highlands John

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
3
I'm another daily. I do it around 10pm as I'm unlikely to get calls and want to take deposits after that time. My machine sometimes automatically batches I've no idea why, I wonder if it's because a software change is being downloaded.
 

Samster

Well-known member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
6,475
Reaction score
14
Location
South Carolina
My machine was set up to run the batch automatically every day at 11 PM. I didn't have to even think about it.
 

gillumhouse

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
15,579
Reaction score
175
Oops....duplicate post. I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually..
I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually.
If you had no charges posted, why send a batch? Sometimes I go weeks with no cc charges - they paid cash or with a check or empty rooms by chance OR design.
 

Samster

Well-known member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
6,475
Reaction score
14
Location
South Carolina
Oops....duplicate post. I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually..
I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually.
If you had no charges posted, why send a batch? Sometimes I go weeks with no cc charges - they paid cash or with a check or empty rooms by chance OR design.
.
If it's set up automatically it checks, but of course won't run a batch if there are no charges for the day. At least that's how mine worked.
 

gillumhouse

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
15,579
Reaction score
175
Oops....duplicate post. I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually..
I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually.
If you had no charges posted, why send a batch? Sometimes I go weeks with no cc charges - they paid cash or with a check or empty rooms by chance OR design.
.
If it's set up automatically it checks, but of course won't run a batch if there are no charges for the day. At least that's how mine worked.
.
Great!
 

greyswan

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
625
Reaction score
0
Mine auto batches daily at 10:30 pm if there is a charge. However, check with your processor... there is a fee if they auto batch vs you do it manually, as ours is that way.
 

Copperhead

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
5,968
Reaction score
0
Mine is also an auto run... If nothing to send, there is no run & no charge. Usually there are fees associated with holding transactions for an extended period of time. The minimal cost to run a batch daily (mine is .29) and the fact that I then have my $, makes it a no brainer.
 

Samster

Well-known member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
6,475
Reaction score
14
Location
South Carolina
Mine is also an auto run... If nothing to send, there is no run & no charge. Usually there are fees associated with holding transactions for an extended period of time. The minimal cost to run a batch daily (mine is .29) and the fact that I then have my $, makes it a no brainer..
Exactly...the cost is minimal to auto batch, and no cost if there's nothing to exchange. I believe that whenever you run a batch manually there's a fee. Show me the MONEY.....right away! haha! :)
 

wendydk

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
0
Oops....duplicate post. I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually..
I guess I'm confused about why this would be done manually.
If you had no charges posted, why send a batch? Sometimes I go weeks with no cc charges - they paid cash or with a check or empty rooms by chance OR design.
.
If it's set up automatically it checks, but of course won't run a batch if there are no charges for the day. At least that's how mine worked.
.
Samster said:
If it's set up automatically it checks, but of course won't run a batch if there are no charges for the day. At least that's how mine worked.
Ditto.
 

Country Girl

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
1,244
Reaction score
1
I also do it daily. Hijack alert: My credit card fees have increased in the past couple of years. Who do you use and what percentage do you pay? I am thinking of switching companies.
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,386
Reaction score
260
I also do it daily. Hijack alert: My credit card fees have increased in the past couple of years. Who do you use and what percentage do you pay? I am thinking of switching companies..
Country Girl said:
I also do it daily. Hijack alert: My credit card fees have increased in the past couple of years. Who do you use and what percentage do you pay? I am thinking of switching companies.
It's not just the percentage, it's all the hidden fees that make me crazy. I think we pay 2.1% for a plain vanilla card and it goes up from there for rewards cards, business cards, international cards. Plus the fee to dial in. Plus additional fees for 'card not present'. Plus a 'statement' fee. Essentially I pay them $.50 to print my own statement on my own paper using my own ink. Don't get me started!
 

One Day

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
686
Reaction score
0
To date..........the best deal I have been able to get was through Quickbooks
 
Top