I'm a CPA Ask Me Anything

Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum

Help Support Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andyCPA

Reaction score
Hello all,
Licensed Certified Public Accountant in the state of Michigan here. Long time viewer of these forums but first time poster. My wife and I are aspiring innkeepers and I couldn't possibly place a value on all the amazing information we've gained from these forums.
Since we set the goal to become innkeepers I've been researching every aspect imaginable on the financial side of things, like common tax deductions B&B owners miss (for example refinancing costs for loan), what is the best costing method for inventory, what's the best accounting software to meet all our needs, and how should I structure the purchase of the property in relation to the business.
I see this section of the site doesn't get a lot of activity but I wanted to try to give back. If I don't get many questions I'll assume it's because things are going so well for everyone.
regular_smile.gif

Anyway, I'll be monitoring this post for the next week or so, ask away if you'd like!
AndyCPA

AndyCPA - thanks for making yourself available. I have a question. You mention you can recommend the best accounting software. Which package do you think is best, for say, a very small inn: 3-10 rooms?
Thanks for sharing your insights!

Best wishes on your new adventure!
I'd hazard a guess the reason this section is so small is because whenever anyone has a question about accounting and setting up business we recommend they consult an accountant!

AndyCPA - thanks for making yourself available. I have a question. You mention you can recommend the best accounting software. Which package do you think is best, for say, a very small inn: 3-10 rooms?
Thanks for sharing your insights!.