Relief management

Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum

Help Support Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark

Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I'm new to the site and wondered if anyone could offer any advice please.
I've limited experience working in bed and breakfasts although I do have quite a few house and pet sits under my belt with several references so therefore am deemed as trustworthy.
I'd like to know the best way of breaking into this field i.e. are there courses to go on, qualifications to gain etc?
I'm 55 and will be going it alone so I won't be part of a couple and wondered if this might hinder me?
Thank you,
Mark

You do not need qualifications to do this, just look at the hundreds of thousands of listings on Airbnb.
If you are looking to borrow money to get started, then yes, the bank will expect you to have at least taken a class so you have a better understanding of running a business.
A good start is to stay at a b&b to see if you like it. Take a look around at how things are done. Are you comfortable? Did you feel welcome?
The state association for innkeepers is another good place to start. They offer classes and may have materials you can read online.
Alone is harder, but not undoable.

Mark are you saying you desire to open your own inn or become an inn sitter while the innkeeper is away?
We were lucky to be able to borrow the funds to get started and pretty well learned by doing (at times the hard way) with our business. If money is available it is doable to learn as you go.
On the other hand if you mean selling youself as a relief operator I'm not sure how to answer as every operation is likely to be a bit different ranging from those needing a manager to those where you need to know and do everything.