Serious about changing careers

Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum

Help Support Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Love Coach

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post. I am a relationship coach whose goal is to retire from my teaching job this school year and buy a Bed and Breakfast where I can run couple's retreats out of. This has been my dream for a couple of years and I have attended one seminar about it. I was told that I should be looking at million dollar bed and breakfasts, but if I sell my current home, I will probably be left with 90,000 dollars tops. We don't mind a fixer upper since we have done some renovations on our own home and are thinking of putting the renovations on a You Tube channel. My question is, does anyone see this as doable? I am looking to buy in June and need to make some decisions soon. Any advice would be helpful.

It depends on where you live. Not a helpful answer, I know.
$90k, as a deposit, won't buy much house and certainly won't leave you with anything for repairs. That's about what we had in reserve after we put down a much larger deposit.
It's tough, but not unheard of, to raid your retirement plan to buy a property. Essentially what you are doing is transferring your investment from the retirement account to the business. It has to be done properly so you don't get hit with penalties and taxes.
In order to be profitable, you'll need more than 6 rooms so you can host large enough retreats. You can be profitable with fewer rooms if you're not doing groups.
Are you planning to open in an area with a dense enough population to support your plan? I see people willing to drive 2-3 hours for a retreat, but not necessarily flying to one. At least not until you've got a rep for saving relationships.
It's a tough decision. Good luck.