Trades?

Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum

Help Support Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deercrossing

Reaction score
I have been approached 3X this past year from other B&B's about trading stays. I turned them down because of the season requests (We gotta make "Hay" while the sun shinesand $$$ in the bank helps get us through the slow winter). Two of them were from places we probably would not visit anyway but the third was from a place we have wanted to go.
Again, I'm a newbie to the site so I am sure this has been discussed time and again but your insights are appreciated.
Thanks

If you think it's a place you will go then go for it! We were going to do one and I asked them if we could come in the off season. No, they were closed but they'd let us stay in the house. What? I want the whole experience not just camping out in someone's house.
So, you might suggest a voucher for you to go when you can. Rather than trying to nail down a date right off.

I don't trade unless it is a B & B I have a good relationship with in another town where we constantly refer guests back and forth. I have a few like that and it is good for each person to get to stay at each others place so they know if it is good or not. If it is some random city across the country then no. I also just received an email from a woman doing a trip from Los Angeles to Washington wanting a free room and in trade I would be featured on her blog. That is not going to happen either.

You are right to pick and choose with these requests. I have done 2. One was an offer by the innkeeper. Their place was in a beach town about 2 hours from here so I jumped on it. Problem, they did not come with a GC/voucher for the reciprocal night. He was lackadaisical about the entire matter (among other things
angry_smile.gif