Quantcast

Website floor plan

INNspiring.com | Innkeeper Forum & Innkeeping Resources

Help Support INNspiring.com | Innkeeper Forum & Innkeeping Resources:

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
I believe in Front Page, you put your cursor where you want to place what they call a BOOKMARK. Cick INSERT / BOOKMARK. Then name it.
Then on the image map/ floor plan, when you link to the rooms page, then click on BOOKMARKS button .....you should see a list of the named bookmarks which are really anchors... you created on that page...then select the one you want..
catlady said:
I believe in Front Page, you put your cursor where you want to place what they call a BOOKMARK. Cick INSERT / BOOKMARK. Then name it.
Then on the image map/ floor plan, when you link to the rooms page, then click on BOOKMARKS button .....you should see a list of the named bookmarks which are really anchors... you created on that page...then select the one you want.
I tried this and could not get the bookmark link to go to a separate page. Works great if everything is on the same page, tho!
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
I think I'm paranoid... I thought about adding a floorplan to the blog so that people could see the house's footprint change as we did our remodeling. However, I also worried that it would be public information for house access to the wrong people.
I've gone back and forth on this and just continue to not put up a floor plan. Once the B&B is open, I'm hoping I've come to some sort of resolution to my overactive imagination.
.
Wendy said:
I think I'm paranoid... I thought about adding a floorplan to the blog so that people could see the house's footprint change as we did our remodeling. However, I also worried that it would be public information for house access to the wrong people.
I've gone back and forth on this and just continue to not put up a floor plan. Once the B&B is open, I'm hoping I've come to some sort of resolution to my overactive imagination.
Don't put your personal space on the floor plan. Just the guest rooms. It's not necessary to have a floor plan, I did it because so many guests were saying they didn't realize there were stairs. (What '2nd floor room' meant to them, I don't know!) Now they can see the stairs in the drawings, sort of.
What I really need is a 'tour' of the inn. But that takes al the fun out of really seeing your room for the first time...
 

EmptyNest

Well-known member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
8,741
Reaction score
1
I believe in Front Page, you put your cursor where you want to place what they call a BOOKMARK. Cick INSERT / BOOKMARK. Then name it.
Then on the image map/ floor plan, when you link to the rooms page, then click on BOOKMARKS button .....you should see a list of the named bookmarks which are really anchors... you created on that page...then select the one you want..
catlady said:
I believe in Front Page, you put your cursor where you want to place what they call a BOOKMARK. Cick INSERT / BOOKMARK. Then name it.
Then on the image map/ floor plan, when you link to the rooms page, then click on BOOKMARKS button .....you should see a list of the named bookmarks which are really anchors... you created on that page...then select the one you want.
I tried this and could not get the bookmark link to go to a separate page. Works great if everything is on the same page, tho!
.
I am sending you a screen shot that hopefully will show you how to do this in Front Page.

 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
Thanks to El, I got the floor plan to do what I wanted it to do originally. Not sure this is the last step, I may want to try something else.
SO, please click the floor plan link in the original post and tell me what you think...
The first floor and the second floor do not act the same way. I want to know which way you like best. (Have not touched 'the porch' as that pic is buried on a different page.)
Questions:
  1. Which 'response' do you like best when you click on the room? First floor or second floor?
  2. Should it open in a new window each time or not? Would you rather have multiple windows open or just one that you can hit 'back' on your browser? Would you want more than one window open to compare rooms? Should I put a 'back' button next to each room on the rooms page that would take you to the floor plan page?
  3. New altogether would be to have a 'box' on the page and when you mouseover the link, the room pic & description pop up in the box. (NOT a pop up window.) This one Swirt has to hep me with, I can't figure it out on my own. (This would be like shopping online where you can click or mouseover the colors and the shirt the model has on changes color. Which I think is way cool!)
 

JunieBJones (JBJ)

Well-known member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
0
PS be careful with your JPG file names as WINKING made me wonder why it was called that?
 

JunieBJones (JBJ)

Well-known member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
0
Thanks to El, I got the floor plan to do what I wanted it to do originally. Not sure this is the last step, I may want to try something else.
SO, please click the floor plan link in the original post and tell me what you think...
The first floor and the second floor do not act the same way. I want to know which way you like best. (Have not touched 'the porch' as that pic is buried on a different page.)
Questions:
  1. Which 'response' do you like best when you click on the room? First floor or second floor?
  2. Should it open in a new window each time or not? Would you rather have multiple windows open or just one that you can hit 'back' on your browser? Would you want more than one window open to compare rooms? Should I put a 'back' button next to each room on the rooms page that would take you to the floor plan page?
  3. New altogether would be to have a 'box' on the page and when you mouseover the link, the room pic & description pop up in the box. (NOT a pop up window.) This one Swirt has to hep me with, I can't figure it out on my own. (This would be like shopping online where you can click or mouseover the colors and the shirt the model has on changes color. Which I think is way cool!)
.
Bree said:
The first floor and the second floor do not act the same way. I want to know which way you like best. (Have not touched 'the porch' as that pic is buried on a different page.)
Questions:
  1. Which 'response' do you like best when you click on the room? First floor or second floor?
  2. Should it open in a new window each time or not? Would you rather have multiple windows open or just one that you can hit 'back' on your browser? Would you want more than one window open to compare rooms? Should I put a 'back' button next to each room on the rooms page that would take you to the floor plan page?
  3. New altogether would be to have a 'box' on the page and when you mouseover the link, the room pic & description pop up in the box. (NOT a pop up window.) This one Swirt has to hep me with, I can't figure it out on my own. (This would be like shopping online where you can click or mouseover the colors and the shirt the model has on changes color. Which I think is way cool!)
SECOND FLOOR PLAN! First floor when I click I forgot the name of the room I clicked. Second it opened a pic of just that room. Definately second is preferable.
Back buttons are bad. For we close the windows if we get them versus new windows/tabs populating. My opinion is you never want the ORIGINAL page to close. If you do - by NOT populating a new window - then the NEW window needs to have all the same navigation buttons as the main pages of the website.
BOX in window (popup)- which DH always recommends to me do not work for all browsers - like my mom's webtv.
 

Samster

Well-known member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
6,475
Reaction score
14
Location
South Carolina
Thanks to El, I got the floor plan to do what I wanted it to do originally. Not sure this is the last step, I may want to try something else.
SO, please click the floor plan link in the original post and tell me what you think...
The first floor and the second floor do not act the same way. I want to know which way you like best. (Have not touched 'the porch' as that pic is buried on a different page.)
Questions:
  1. Which 'response' do you like best when you click on the room? First floor or second floor?
  2. Should it open in a new window each time or not? Would you rather have multiple windows open or just one that you can hit 'back' on your browser? Would you want more than one window open to compare rooms? Should I put a 'back' button next to each room on the rooms page that would take you to the floor plan page?
  3. New altogether would be to have a 'box' on the page and when you mouseover the link, the room pic & description pop up in the box. (NOT a pop up window.) This one Swirt has to hep me with, I can't figure it out on my own. (This would be like shopping online where you can click or mouseover the colors and the shirt the model has on changes color. Which I think is way cool!)
.
Second Floor.
New window open - I hate going "back" all the time.
No pop-up windows - many people have pop ups blocked.
 

swirt

Forum founder. Former Owner.
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
0
Thanks to El, I got the floor plan to do what I wanted it to do originally. Not sure this is the last step, I may want to try something else.
SO, please click the floor plan link in the original post and tell me what you think...
The first floor and the second floor do not act the same way. I want to know which way you like best. (Have not touched 'the porch' as that pic is buried on a different page.)
Questions:
  1. Which 'response' do you like best when you click on the room? First floor or second floor?
  2. Should it open in a new window each time or not? Would you rather have multiple windows open or just one that you can hit 'back' on your browser? Would you want more than one window open to compare rooms? Should I put a 'back' button next to each room on the rooms page that would take you to the floor plan page?
  3. New altogether would be to have a 'box' on the page and when you mouseover the link, the room pic & description pop up in the box. (NOT a pop up window.) This one Swirt has to hep me with, I can't figure it out on my own. (This would be like shopping online where you can click or mouseover the colors and the shirt the model has on changes color. Which I think is way cool!)
.
The whole thing is a bit too much hopping jumping and popping. Hang on while I get you a mouseover script.
 

swirt

Forum founder. Former Owner.
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
0
Here's the code for the first floor floorplan. You can rework the others as needed. You will need to make some default image that will appear when nothing has been clicked on yet.
You will need to adjust the size of the rocker and relaxing photos to match the size of the room photos, or you will get some weird resizing issues.
<!-- ----------begining of code------------- -->
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="5">
<tr>
<td>
<map name="FPMap1">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/parlor08.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="201, 165, 298, 276">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/rockers.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="198, 13, 301, 115">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/relaxing.jpg'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="86, 296, 195, 335">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/frontrm.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="87, 18, 183, 110">
</map>
<img border="0" src="images/firstfloor.jpg" width="336" height="365" align="left" usemap="#FPMap1">
</td>
<td><img src="someDefaultImage.jpg" width="380" height="280" name="mainimage"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- -------------end of code-------------------------- -->
 

swirt

Forum founder. Former Owner.
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
0
Here's the code for the first floor floorplan. You can rework the others as needed. You will need to make some default image that will appear when nothing has been clicked on yet.
You will need to adjust the size of the rocker and relaxing photos to match the size of the room photos, or you will get some weird resizing issues.
<!-- ----------begining of code------------- -->
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="5">
<tr>
<td>
<map name="FPMap1">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/parlor08.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="201, 165, 298, 276">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/rockers.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="198, 13, 301, 115">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/relaxing.jpg'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="86, 296, 195, 335">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/frontrm.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="87, 18, 183, 110">
</map>
<img border="0" src="images/firstfloor.jpg" width="336" height="365" align="left" usemap="#FPMap1">
</td>
<td><img src="someDefaultImage.jpg" width="380" height="280" name="mainimage"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- -------------end of code-------------------------- -->.
I forgot to add, if you want them to appear on mouseover instead of when clicked, change the word "onClick" to "onMouseOver".
Other cautionary issues:
  1. Your server may or may not be case sensitive. If it is, you will need to make sure the image names match the case of the actual file names.
  2. Your floorplan images should be GIF instead of JPG. (JPG is for photos and textures, GIF is for line art regions with solid colors)
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
Here's the code for the first floor floorplan. You can rework the others as needed. You will need to make some default image that will appear when nothing has been clicked on yet.
You will need to adjust the size of the rocker and relaxing photos to match the size of the room photos, or you will get some weird resizing issues.
<!-- ----------begining of code------------- -->
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="5">
<tr>
<td>
<map name="FPMap1">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/parlor08.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="201, 165, 298, 276">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/rockers.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="198, 13, 301, 115">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/relaxing.jpg'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="86, 296, 195, 335">
<area href="" onClick="document.mainimage.src='images/frontrm.JPG'; return false;" shape="rect" coords="87, 18, 183, 110">
</map>
<img border="0" src="images/firstfloor.jpg" width="336" height="365" align="left" usemap="#FPMap1">
</td>
<td><img src="someDefaultImage.jpg" width="380" height="280" name="mainimage"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- -------------end of code-------------------------- -->.
Thanks! I was in the middle of doing this when I had to answer the door. By the time I got back my computer had rebooted and I lost what I had done.
BUT, before that happened, I did save where I was and I didn't have any pix (just the rectangular boxes and the little X in a box). So, it picked up the shape but not the pix. I put in a 'generic' photo to show before anyone clicks and that didn't show, either. Any ideas?
I'm going to mess around with it some more and hope there are no more 'IMPORTANT downloads from MS'.
 

swirt

Forum founder. Former Owner.
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
0
This code works, I tested it. My bet is it is related to either capitalization of the image file names compared to the references to the filename (case sensitivity), or it is the image path is not quite right for where your images are relative to the page.
You can rule out the image path by making the paths absolute instead of relative (change references like src='images/parlor08.JPG' into src='/images/parlor08.JPG' ) The slash in front of images forces it to start at the root of the site.
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
This code works, I tested it. My bet is it is related to either capitalization of the image file names compared to the references to the filename (case sensitivity), or it is the image path is not quite right for where your images are relative to the page.
You can rule out the image path by making the paths absolute instead of relative (change references like src='images/parlor08.JPG' into src='/images/parlor08.JPG' ) The slash in front of images forces it to start at the root of the site..
THX, will try again later.
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
This code works, I tested it. My bet is it is related to either capitalization of the image file names compared to the references to the filename (case sensitivity), or it is the image path is not quite right for where your images are relative to the page.
You can rule out the image path by making the paths absolute instead of relative (change references like src='images/parlor08.JPG' into src='/images/parlor08.JPG' ) The slash in front of images forces it to start at the root of the site..
OK, the slash part worked. I got it to pop up the pix onmouseover (yeah! it looks neat!). Just can't get the 'main' pic to display. I tried using one of the pix from the map (like the website you posted does). Nothing doing. Sorry, I feel like an idiot. Not much difference between what I have and what the other site has for that statement. I tried moving the statement to a different location (at the start, instead of at the end), nope.
Other hints greatly appreciated.
Oddly enough, the porch pic fits nicely.
I take it back. Now nothing works. Mouseover does nothing. Clicking on the image map gives me the home page. Yikers.
OK, figured out what I did wrong...looks good, will post as soon as it's done. THANK YOU!!!!
 

trishany

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
299
Reaction score
0
Hi Bree, I think that potential guests going to your website would want to see PICTURES of the rooms instead of floorplans. I think that people are just too busy to click on "where" they are situated in your B&B. Most guests love pictures and "what" comes with the room.
Also, I don't think you should start off with "there are no rooms.....". Start off with where the rooms ARE.
Just being honest.
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
Hi Bree, I think that potential guests going to your website would want to see PICTURES of the rooms instead of floorplans. I think that people are just too busy to click on "where" they are situated in your B&B. Most guests love pictures and "what" comes with the room.
Also, I don't think you should start off with "there are no rooms.....". Start off with where the rooms ARE.
Just being honest..
Trish- Good point about being positive. This floor plan page links from the rooms page. I'm just saving everyone here the time of having to go page to page. If you put your mouse over the room name, you get a picture...
The guest never has to look at this page if they choose not to. It's kind of an added bonus for those people who need to know everything!
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
Let's try this again (with Swirt's coaching in place).
New floor plan.
Comments requested.
One piece I need help with...for some reason, if you click on the floor plan you get bumped back to the home page. Making that stop would be helpful. Any advice welcome.
 

YellowSocks

Well-known member
Supporting Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
2,179
Reaction score
13
Let's try this again (with Swirt's coaching in place).
New floor plan.
Comments requested.
One piece I need help with...for some reason, if you click on the floor plan you get bumped back to the home page. Making that stop would be helpful. Any advice welcome..
Wow! Super cool!
My sister always wants to know where the room is in relation to other rooms and features in the house; this would be great for her.
Is it possible to add hallway and bathroom pictures?
=)
Kk.
 

Samster

Well-known member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
6,475
Reaction score
14
Location
South Carolina
Let's try this again (with Swirt's coaching in place).
New floor plan.
Comments requested.
One piece I need help with...for some reason, if you click on the floor plan you get bumped back to the home page. Making that stop would be helpful. Any advice welcome..
Looks good! The mouse over feature is really nice. I still think that you need to re-name "living room" on the plan so that it's clear that it's a common area...I keep thinking that it's part of a guest room when I look at it quickly. Also, where is the dining room?? I'd want to know that. Where do I go to eat my breakfast? Just some thoughts....
 

Morticia

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
17,351
Reaction score
223
Let's try this again (with Swirt's coaching in place).
New floor plan.
Comments requested.
One piece I need help with...for some reason, if you click on the floor plan you get bumped back to the home page. Making that stop would be helpful. Any advice welcome..
Wow! Super cool!
My sister always wants to know where the room is in relation to other rooms and features in the house; this would be great for her.
Is it possible to add hallway and bathroom pictures?
=)
Kk.
.
Hallway and bathroom pix become somewhat of a necessity, don't they, with the layout? Drat. The bathrooms are just too small to even try to take pix. It's like taking a picture of your closet. All I'm going to get are walls.
 
Top