My jaw dropped when I read this response

30 replies [Last post]
TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

(I have changed all the names to protect whoever wants protection.)

 

Two stars   Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have stayed here twice. Our first visit in November we stayed in Evening Star. We enjoyed the inn's location (close to my parents), and had taken a liking to Todd, the manager as he had been very helpful to us in locating a restaurant that could provide dinner delivery for my ailing parents.

At the end of December, we needed to return to Town and called Todd to see if we could get a room at the lat minute.

Todd offered us a choice of two rooms. We asked him to recommend one of the two and he recommended Sea Shanty. The price he quoted us was about $40 a day more than if we booked online, but we did not want to quibble, and booked our room with him on the phone.

When we arrived we were initially disappointed to discover that Sea Shanty was nowhere near as well maintained as Evening Star. The paint was peeling in the bath and the linens were... well, just not standard hotel linens. Instead of crisp white sheets, they were well worn green cotton sheets with some pilling. My wife found the comforter and blanket so "well worn" that we ended up purchasing a new one at Shaw's.

But what really upset us was the construction going on next door. They were drilling into the granite cliffs and blasting no more than a hundred feet from the room and at the same level as the room.

Todd had not warned of this in any way when we booked. We felt betrayed. We could not imagine how he could have booked us into that room - at full rates - without even a warning to us that we might be disturbed by the construction that started at 8 in the morning and went on all day every one of the days that we stayed there.

We were so upset by this that we did not even want to discuss it with him. We wanted to cool off before even thinking about having a talk.

But things got worse. While my wife was having breakfast, Todd came to the table and started a discussion. Now this is a nice enough gesture, and part of why we had taken a liking to him in the first place. However while he was talking to her, he reached up under his shirt and scratched his belly. My wife was quite upset at this.

We were very disappointed that what had started out as a good relationship in November turned sour so quickly in December.

Some might say that we should have voiced our dissatisfaction to management while we were there. We feel that it is not our responsibility to ensure that we get service and value that delights us.

It is the hotel's job to ensure that are delighted with the service and value. If we are dissatisfied and take the time to discuss that with management, we are doing them a favour.

The reason why we did not do the The Oceanfront Inn management the favour of discussing our dissatisfaction is because as I said before, we felt betrayed by having been charged full rates for a room that we considered sub-standard in every way.

To summarize:
1) We made a visit in November, enjoyed the location, room and the management.
2) We returned in December to a more expensive room than Evening Star, found it in worse repair, and with a tremendous nuisance factor of construction taking place next door. (see photos below taken Jan 30th as construction continues).
3) We felt betrayed by the fact that no warning was given to us when we booked that the construction noise would be a nuisance.
4) We feel that some of the manager's behaviour was unprofessional
5) We do not feel like it is our responsibility to give anyone a second chance. Second chances are earned, not owed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are less likely to experience unpleasant noise from the basting and construct...
See more room tips

Todd, General Manager at Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to review us and I'm very sorry that the work on the property next door disturbed your stay, However maybe you could of mentioned that during your 4 night stay in December 2013 rather then writing a review essentially 45 days later. Other than one night during your stay you could of requested a room change and mentioned any of the numerous issues you claim to be unsatisfactory in your room.

Thank you for at least recognizing the fact that you had a great stay in November 2013!!

You weren't overcharged $40 compared to online since this room was unavailable to be booked online. You booked for New Years Eve one of of the most popular times in Town since we have a first night party here in town.

As far as your sheets and blankets! SHAW'S IS A GROCERY STORE NOT A LINEN STORE!!! which means you are inaccurate as usual and you have been bending the truth now on this 2ND SAME review as TinyTim's review was put on subsequently 3 days earlier. Thanks for being not somewhat but completely inaccurate again!

__________________

TBH

 

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.    Here is the portion of the review and my response.  

The bathing facilities were a little spartan in our room. There was a lovely claw-foot tub, but one had to sit in the tub and use the flexible hose and shower head if one did not want to soak. But, that is to be expected at an older inn. The rocky coast and ocean views were spectacular!

 

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure having you here! Each of our rooms has a private bathroom and each one is different. The Rocky Beach room, where you stayed is the only one with the European style hand held shower. Many people find it charming, but we understand it isn't everyone's cup of tea. Next time you stay with us, we suggest the Romance Beach or Rose Hedge room. Both have stand up showers and great views. We hope to see you again soon.

 

Joey Camb's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/02/2010

id have squashed in the complimentary upgrade to an ensuite room somewhere - gimp!

__________________

Don't mess with me today or I will kill you!!!!

 

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Joey Camb wrote:

id have squashed in the complimentary upgrade to an ensuite room somewhere - gimp!

 

I tried, it kept coming out snarky.   LOL

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

TheBeachHouse wrote:

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.   

So they reserved the tub and then didn't like the tub. Were other rooms available, and they specifically chose that one? It gets my goat.

__________________

Gluten free is never free. - Joey Bloggs

 

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.   

So they reserved the tub and then didn't like the tub. Were other rooms available, and they specifically chose that one? It gets my goat.

 

Actually, they reserved the room that has a bath down the hall.   The least expensive room.  He balked at the bath down the hall, so my husband upgraded them to a room that costs more and has an ensuite bath.....and is much bigger and has a king, rather than queen bed.   But he chose to focus on the shower situation.

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

TheBeachHouse wrote:

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.   

So they reserved the tub and then didn't like the tub. Were other rooms available, and they specifically chose that one? It gets my goat.

 

Actually, they reserved the room that has a bath down the hall.   The least expensive room.  He balked at the bath down the hall, so my husband upgraded them to a room that costs more and has an ensuite bath.....and is much bigger and has a king, rather than queen bed.   But he chose to focus on the shower situation.

Oh it was THAT guy! He got the upgrade and complained, what a piece of work!

Let me ask you, is the wall sloped so that you can't stand in that tub to shower? I am looking at the photo.

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.   

So they reserved the tub and then didn't like the tub. Were other rooms available, and they specifically chose that one? It gets my goat.

 

Actually, they reserved the room that has a bath down the hall.   The least expensive room.  He balked at the bath down the hall, so my husband upgraded them to a room that costs more and has an ensuite bath.....and is much bigger and has a king, rather than queen bed.   But he chose to focus on the shower situation.

Oh it was THAT guy! He got the upgrade and complained, what a piece of work!

Let me ask you, is the wall sloped so that you can't stand in that tub to shower? I am looking at the photo.

 

Yes, the wall is sloped so that adding a shower extension wouldn't work.   The bath next door has the clawfoot tub with a stand up shower extension.    We have looked at rearranging the fixtures to put a shower in.   It's a project for another year.   But for now, we clearly state that it is a hand held shower in the brochure and on the website.  We understand it's unusual so we TRY to manage expecations.

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

TheBeachHouse wrote:

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.   

So they reserved the tub and then didn't like the tub. Were other rooms available, and they specifically chose that one? It gets my goat.

 

Actually, they reserved the room that has a bath down the hall.   The least expensive room.  He balked at the bath down the hall, so my husband upgraded them to a room that costs more and has an ensuite bath.....and is much bigger and has a king, rather than queen bed.   But he chose to focus on the shower situation.

Oh it was THAT guy! He got the upgrade and complained, what a piece of work!

Let me ask you, is the wall sloped so that you can't stand in that tub to shower? I am looking at the photo.

 

Yes, the wall is sloped so that adding a shower extension wouldn't work.   The bath next door has the clawfoot tub with a stand up shower extension.    We have looked at rearranging the fixtures to put a shower in.   It's a project for another year.   But for now, we clearly state that it is a hand held shower in the brochure and on the website.  We understand it's unusual so we TRY to manage expecations.

But you can STAND to shower? That is what I am asking. I am trying to help make it clearer. Otherwise it is not a shower, it is a tub. Without redoing it, I am just wanting it to be clear on your website, so you don't get dinged again on TA from it. Just want to help.

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

Joey Bloggs wrote:

TheBeachHouse wrote:

ai finally responded to the review that mentioned our bathrooms in a bad light.   This discussion was an innspiration.   

So they reserved the tub and then didn't like the tub. Were other rooms available, and they specifically chose that one? It gets my goat.

 

Actually, they reserved the room that has a bath down the hall.   The least expensive room.  He balked at the bath down the hall, so my husband upgraded them to a room that costs more and has an ensuite bath.....and is much bigger and has a king, rather than queen bed.   But he chose to focus on the shower situation.

Oh it was THAT guy! He got the upgrade and complained, what a piece of work!

Let me ask you, is the wall sloped so that you can't stand in that tub to shower? I am looking at the photo.

 

Yes, the wall is sloped so that adding a shower extension wouldn't work.   The bath next door has the clawfoot tub with a stand up shower extension.    We have looked at rearranging the fixtures to put a shower in.   It's a project for another year.   But for now, we clearly state that it is a hand held shower in the brochure and on the website.  We understand it's unusual so we TRY to manage expecations.

But you can STAND to shower? That is what I am asking. I am trying to help make it clearer. Otherwise it is not a shower, it is a tub. Just want to help.

 

No, you can't stand to shower.  You have to sit in the tub.  The ceiling is too low.

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

I figured you had to sit from my experience in France. Would it be possible to offer a bath seat in the tub to make it easier?

 

__________________

Everyday, for good or ill, we intersect with some else's story and become a part of it.

 

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

Oddest thing ever was trying to shower with a hand held in a little hotel in Toulouse. No shower curtain so there was water everywhere when I was done.

Can you get a rain shower head in next year?

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Madeleine wrote:

Oddest thing ever was trying to shower with a hand held in a little hotel in Toulouse. No shower curtain so there was water everywhere when I was done.

Can you get a rain shower head in next year?

The ceiling over the tub is slanted with the roof line.  Most people couldn't stand up in the tub.

We will see what we can do but nothing until after Summer.  In the meantime, every bathroom has a brand new adjustable shower head.  

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

I've written 20 reviews in the past 2 weeks. ZERO responses. I also did not contact mgmt at the time of all the problems. Why not? In one case we were already in bed and neither of us wanted to get up, get dressed and call the front desk and wait for someone to come to the room to handle the problem. We dealt with it and let them know in the morning.

In one case, it was still early enough and we did call. Someone came immediately to handle the problems in question but most of the issues I had (dirt, stains) were never going to be fixed.

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

Madeleine wrote:

I've written 20 reviews in the past 2 weeks. ZERO responses (*Inserted from JB - maybe they have not published yet, or maybe the inns in question do not regularly check TA). I also did not contact mgmt at the time of all the problems. Why not? In one case we were already in bed and neither of us wanted to get up, get dressed and call the front desk and wait for someone to come to the room to handle the problem. We dealt with it and let them know in the morning.

In one case, it was still early enough and we did call. Someone came immediately to handle the problems in question but most of the issues I had (dirt, stains) were never going to be fixed.

I think your travels will bring new insight into what guests go through when they stay with us. After you recover can you please think about some of the questions I am going to post below and share your POV.

I know some B&B's here are destinations, the person books a room, shows up, stays and goes home smiling. But for us, specifically here, at least 50% are traveling, we are only ONE stop on their travels. So for that, it is good to see how frustrating travel can be, not everything is smooth sailing.  How accessible innkeepers/mgmt really are, and more.

When you stayed at a B&B:

1) Did you want the innkeepers waiting to check you-in after 8 hours on the road? Or did you appreciate an open or self check in time to get there when you got there?

2) Did you want to have a set breakfast time, or show up whenever? Were the hosts amiable either way? Were any of the breakfasts above par? Were any of them below par?

3) Did you have any problems during your stay that the hosts/mgmt could not fix or were unwilling to fix?

4) Did any of the innkeepers make it all seem like ice cream and truffles, and they helped you relax by their relaxed approach? Or the opposite, did some of them seem uptight and make you immediately go into hackles raised mode?

5) Did you encounter any snafus while in a room, "Stuff happens" sort of thing, and were unable to deal with it? Did you let is slide and not worry about it?

6) What was the one thing overall you FELT or EXPERIENCED at a B&B that sticks with you, most memorable moment or experience?

7) Did any of them send you a follow up, or a thank you email? Did any of them request a TA review from you? Did any of them send you a thank you card by snail mail?

8 ) Did any of them have a welcome card or note in your room, addressing you by name? (I really would like to hear this answer, please), or make your stay personal in any other way?

9) Other random thoughts from you, who traveled many many miles

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

Joey Bloggs wrote:

 

I think your travels will bring new insight into what guests go through when they stay with us. After you recover can you please think about some of the questions I am going to post below and share your POV.

We chose to not stay at B&B's because we wanted our time to be our time. We did not want to have to show up for breakfast or find someone to tell we didn't want breakfast. We wanted to get up when we felt like it, get on the road when we wanted and (for me) did not want our time taken up chatting with the innkeepers. We were on vacation FROM all of that. Harsh, I know but that's how I planned it.

OTOH, we were well-treated in almost every place we stayed. We were walk-ins in all but 2 (first and last nights). Only one place had the 'we don't care' attitude and they should have cared. They gave us a keycard to a room that was already in use! When we went to complain they were 'oh, the guy on the day shift messed the computer up we're still trying to fix it.' Yeah, right. If they KNEW the guy messed up they should have walked us to the room to make sure.

All of my reviews have been posted. Once I got started TA couldn't post them fast enough!

Highlands John's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/16/2010

 

IMHO, running a B&B has opposite effects when traveling yourself. I think it makes you a lot more accepting of things going wrong and sympathetic for proprietors trying to put them right, on the other hand I think it makes you a lot less tolerant of things that are wrong and no attempt has been made to rectify.  

__________________

If you wanted hotel facilities you should have booked a hotel and paid hotel prices!!!

 

Generic's picture
Offline
Joined:
02/24/2011

I'm at a hotel who's breakfast is to bad... that I wanted to go out for breakfast after breakfast.

How bad? Apparently no yoghurt on the weekends. So breakfast was bread, danish, premade waffles, cereal and fruit salad. There was 4 types of juice, 2 types of coffee and a fruit bowl. I wondered if prisoners might get a better breakfast.

__________________

Permission to quote in whole or in part, other than usage on this forum, is entirely forbidden.

 

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Jon Sable wrote:

I'm at a hotel who's breakfast is to bad... that I wanted to go out for breakfast after breakfast.

How bad? Apparently no yoghurt on the weekends. So breakfast was bread, danish, premade waffles, cereal and fruit salad. There was 4 types of juice, 2 types of coffee and a fruit bowl. I wondered if prisoners might get a better breakfast.

 

hmmmm, add in the yogurt and that's pretty much what we serve.  If it says Continental Breakfast, it means they don't have the ability (by law) to cook a breakfast.   We put out something sweet and baked, English Muffins, sometimes, toaster waffles, peanut butter, jelly, cream cheese and butter.   On the other table, three kinds of cereal , milk, yogurt, and fresh fruit.   Three kinds of juice and a coffee machine.

People rave about our breakfast, so I guess it's ok.

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

ignore this space

Generic's picture
Offline
Joined:
02/24/2011

To be 100% honest, nothing bothered me more than the lack of yoghurt. I would have been very happy with just a prepacked single yoghurt and a banana and some good coffee. The only thing they had on that list was the banana. The coffee was just too weak. 

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

Hey, I lived on that fare for two weeks. It's pretty much the only thing any cheaper hotel has.

Generic's picture
Offline
Joined:
02/24/2011

I've been to some hotels that had a better breakfast than that! In fact this is the first time I have been at a hotel that didn't have yoghurt! YOGHURT!

They had these weird moon shaped preformed eggs this morning (gross), turkey sausage patties in liquid (gross) and tater tots... but no yoghurt. And really, that's all I wanted... a yoghurt, maybe a banana.

Went to MickeyD's. That's right, free breakfast and I still went to MickeyD's because to me it was so bad, that I would rather pay for what I want.

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

One of our meals was at a buffet. $5. All we could eat and real juice. That was probably the best breakfast of all.

Had I not been sick at the time I would have loaded up on all the donuts. I know, terrible. As it was I had healthy stuff like fruit and eggs.

Madeleine's picture
Offline
Joined:
09/29/2011

Highlands John wrote:

 

IMHO, running a B&B has opposite effects when traveling yourself. I think it makes you a lot more accepting of things going wrong and sympathetic for proprietors trying to put them right, on the other hand I think it makes you a lot less tolerant of things that are wrong and no attempt has been made to rectify.  

I went back and looked at my reviews. I gave a lot of leeway to small properties where effort is being made. Big properties ought to have their game face on all the time. I gave a lot of credit if everyone treated us well.

As for B&B's,  I judge based on what we do here. What we do is the minimum standard. We don't have bells and whistles so it's pretty easy to live up to my standard. If they don't even do that then points deducted for 'not getting it'.

If you say there is a fireplace and it's really just an electronic fake fireplace that puts out no heat you're gonna get dinged. If the breakfast is served cold you're gonna get dinged.

DH has been known to toss a whole pan full of eggs in the trash because he doesn't like how they set up. That's my standard.

Joey Camb's picture
Offline
Joined:
04/02/2010

I can't be doing with false descriptions ie we booked a place specifically because it said very quiet, off the main strip etc

Got there - bus stop which ran every 20 minutes all night and a single glazed window - and the stop was right under our window - with people chatting and waiting for the buss all night - so no was not quiet!

 

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

Highlands John wrote:

 

IMHO, running a B&B has opposite effects when traveling yourself. I think it makes you a lot more accepting of things going wrong and sympathetic for proprietors trying to put them right, on the other hand I think it makes you a lot less tolerant of things that are wrong and no attempt has been made to rectify.  

I hear you, I totally get it and know how much work it is to change a little thing, let alone remedy it! And then things that can simply be taken care of, but most innkeepers don't have this forum, and are technically on their own and wingin' it!

Some of the things newbies have dropped jaws over here that we take for granted everyone knows.

Offline
Joined:
10/07/2008

I don't agree with the mgmt response, but I can guarantee the nit picking reviewer was a royal PITA. Whatever set him/her off the rest is history. Anyone who would do that vs talk to the manager at the time is a RED FLAG.

TheBeachHouse's picture
Offline
Joined:
06/24/2013

Joey Bloggs wrote:

I don't agree with the mgmt response, but I can guarantee the nit picking reviewer was a royal PITA. Whatever set him/her off the rest is history. Anyone who would do that vs talk to the manager at the time is a RED FLAG.

 

I agree that the guest was a brat.    But the response made me positive I would not want to stay there.    A guest that would go out and buy their own linens?  LOL  

Offline
Joined:
01/12/2013

Yes, agreed...horrible response.  But jacka$$ guests also.

Arks's picture
Offline
Joined:
05/22/2010

Wow what a horrible business-hurting management response!

And what kind of itch can't be scratched THROUGH the shirt!

__________________

All saints can do miracles, but few of them can keep hotel. ~ Mark Twain

 

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.